MCA Announces ‘National CSR Awards 2020: Winners/ Honorable Mentions’

The MCA has announced the ‘National CSR Awards 2020,’ as well as the list of Winners and Honorable Mentions. These awards are intended to provide apex national level recognition by the Government of India of companies that have made a positive impact on society through innovative and sustainable CSR initiatives.

During the COVID-19 pandemic, the three-stage process for National CSR Awards 2020 was carried out. Based on their submissions and the reports of the independent assessment by CSR experts and the Grand Jury, MCA has announced 20 Award Winner Companies and 17 Honorable Mention Companies.

MCA Announces 'National CSR Awards 2020: Winners/ Honorable Mentions'

List of ‘Winners’/ ‘Honorable Mentions’ of ‘National CSR Awards 2020’

List of Winners/ Honorable Mentions of National CSR Awards 2020 across the three award categories, is as below

Category 1: National CSR Awards 2020 for Corporate Excellence in CSR

Sub-category 1.1: Companies having eligible CSR Spend equal and above Rs. 100 crores
WinnerHindustan Petroleum Corporation Limited
Honourable MentionHousing Development Finance Corporation Limited
Sub-category 1.2: Companies having eligible CSR Spend equal and above Rs. 10 crores and less than Rs. 100 crores
WinnerTata Steel Limited
Honourable MentionTech Mahindra Limited
Sub-category 1.3: Companies having eligible CSR Spend equal and above Rs. 1 crore and less than Rs.10 crores
WinnerCRISIL Limited
Honourable MentionHoneywell Automation India Limited
Sub-category 1.4: Companies having eligible CSR Spend below Rs. 1 crore
MSME WinnerWingify Software Private Limited
Honourable MentionTata Motors Finance Limited

Category 2: National CSR Awards 2020 for CSR in Aspirational Districts / Difficult Terrains

Sub-category 2.1: Northern India
WinnerITC Limited
Honourable MentionIndian Oil Corporation Limited
Sub-category 2.2: North-East India
WinnerNorth Eastern Electric Power Corporation Limited
Honourable MentionPower Grid Corporation of India Limited
Sub-category 2.3: Eastern India
WinnerJindal Steel & Power Limited
Honourable MentionNational Aluminium Company Limited (NALCO)
Sub-category 2.4: Western India
WinnerTata Communications Transformation Services Limited
Honourable MentionJK Lakshmi Cement Limited
Sub-category 2.5: Southern India
MSME WinnerAvantel Limited
Honourable MentionAshok Leyland Limited

Category 3: National CSR Awards 2020 for contribution in National Priority Areas

Sub-category 3.1: Education
WinnerTata Steel Limited
Honourable MentionBMW India Private Limited
Sub-category 3.2: Skill Development and Livelihood
WinnerTech Mahindra Limited
Honourable MentionMahindra and Mahindra Limited
Sub-category 3.3: Agriculture and Rural Development
WinnerMahanadi Coalfields Limited
Sub-category 3.4: Health, Safe Drinking Water and Sanitation
WinnerHero MotoCorp Limited
Honourable MentionHindustan Petroleum Corporation Limited
Sub-category 3.5: Environment, Sustainable Development and Solar Energy
WinnerOil and Natural Gas Corporation Limited
Honourable MentionBajaj Auto Limited
Sub-category 3.6: Women and Child Development
WinnerGodrej and Boyce Manufacturing Company Limited
Honourable MentionMahanadi Coalfields Limited
Sub-category 3.7: Technology Incubation
WinnerHousing Development Finance Corporation Limited
Sub-category 3.8: Promotion of Sports
WinnerCentral Coalfields Limited
Honourable MentionAditya Birla Insurance Brokers Limited
Sub-category 3.9: Slum Area Development
WinnerHCL Technologies Limited
Sub-category 3.10: Heritage, Art and Culture
MSME WinnerElin Appliances Private Limited
Honourable MentionHindustan Zinc Limited
Sub-category 3.11: Support to differently-abled
WinnerJindal Steel and Power Limited
Honourable MentionADP Private Limited

About National CSR Awards 2020

The CSR Awards seek to infuse excellence in CSR interventions undertaken by corporates in pursuance of Section 135 of the Companies Act, 2013. Upto 20 awards are conferred each year in three main categories, namely, Corporate Awards for Excellence in CSR, CSR Awards for CSR in Aspirational Districts/ Difficult Terrains and CSR Awards for contribution in National Priority Areas. Equal numbers of Honourable Mentions are also given to the companies having appreciable CSR interventions.

The awards in the category ‘Corporate Awards for Excellence in CSR’ are for recognition to a company based on total eligible CSR spend, the awards in the category ‘CSR Awards for CSR in Aspirational Districts/ Difficult Terrains’ are for the recognition to a company based on their CSR efforts in Aspirational Districts, difficult terrains/ disturbed areas, challenging circumstances etc., and the awards in the category ‘CSR Awards for contribution in National Priority Areas’ are chosen based on contribution of CSR projects in National Priority Areas. One Award in each of the three main categories is reserved for MSME.

National CSR Awards three stage process:

a) Online nominations are invited on the National CSR Data Portal ( through Ministries/ Departments of Govt. of India, all State Governments & Union Territories; three Professional Institutes:, i.e. The Institute of Company Secretaries of India, The Institute of Chartered Accountants of India and The Institute of Cost Accountants of India; and various Trade and Industry Chambers.

b) Shortlisting of the nominations is done and detailed submissions are invited from the shortlisted companies. Subsequently, the CSR projects of the shortlisted companies and claims made in detailed submission are subjected to field verification by independent expert Committee members, under the guidance of the Grand Jury of the Awards.

c) The Grand Jury considers and examines the reports of the expert committee and recommends the winners and Honourable Mentions across various categories and sub-categories.

First National CSR Awards were conferred on 29/10/2019 by His Excellency, President of India in a ceremonial function held at the Vigyan Bhawan, New Delhi. There were total 19 winners and equal numbers of Honourable Mentions in different sub-categories of the award in the first cycle. (PIB)

Tags:, ,

Leave a Reply