PM Modi dedicates 75 Digital Banking Units (DBUs)

Prime Minister Shri Narendra Modi has dedicated 75 Digital Banking Units (DBUs) in 75 districts across the country via video conference, in line with the Announcement by Finance Minister to establish 75 DBUs in the Budget 2022 speech, to celebrate our nation’s 75th anniversary.

The creation of DBUs is a joint initiative of the government, the Reserve Bank of India, and the Indian Banks Association, participated by 11 public sector banks, 12 private sector banks, and one small finance bank, to assist India in transitioning to a cashless and inclusive economy.

PM Modi dedicates 75 Digital Banking Units (DBUs)

These DBUs will provide digital banking services across the country by covering all states and union territories. Consumers will be able to open savings accounts, check their balances, print passbooks, transfer funds, invest in fixed deposits, apply for credit/debit cards, examine account statements, pay taxes, pay bills, make nominations, and so on at these DBUs.

DBUs will offer savings, credit, investment, and insurance products/ services. Everything from online applications to loan disbursements for small ticket retail and MSME loans will be handled by them. They will also participate in government-sponsored initiatives. With the assistance of digital business facilitators and business correspondents, their services can be expanded.

Throughout the year, DBUs will provide clients with cost-effective, convenient, and enhanced digital banking services. Digital financial literacy and cyber security education will be promoted. DBUs are required to provide real-time assistance and resolve client concerns through digital channels, either directly or through Business Facilitators/ Correspondents.

People who do not have personal computers, laptops, or smartphones will be able to use DBUs to access banking services. Non-technical people will benefit from paperless services because they will be available 24 hours a day, seven days a week.

DBUs will power the digital ecosystem, improve customer experiences by enabling seamless banking transactions, and promote financial inclusion by offering banking services in a paperless, efficient, safe, and secure environment.

The products and services at DBUs will be available in two modes: self-service mode and assisted mode. Self-service mode shall be available 24 hours a day, seven days a week.

Union Finance Minister, Chief Ministers, Union and State Ministers, RBI Governor, LGs, MPs and MLAs, Secretaries, and other senior Government of India officials participated in via video conference. The event was also attended by MDs and CEOs, bank officials, and other public representatives from various DBUs across the country. All of the officials stationed at the 75 DBUs were also connected during the event.

State/ UT wise List of Digital Banking Units (DBUs)

Sl. NoSTATE/ UTName of District/ DBUBank allocated DBU
1Andaman & Nicobar (UT)Port BlairState Bank of India
2Andhra PradeshEast  GodavariUnion Bank of India
3Andhra PradeshMachilipatamUnion Bank of India
4Arunachal PradeshPapum PareYes Bank
5AssamBongaigaonPunjab National Bank
6AssamBaksaState Bank of India
7BiharPatna (Danapur)Jana Small Finance Bank
8Chandigarh (UT)Chandigarh (Rural)HDFC Bank
9ChattisgarhBalodState Bank of India
10ChattisgarhMahasammandState Bank of India
11Dadra Nagar Haveli Daman and Diu (UT)SilvasaBank of Baroda
12GoaSouth GoaState Bank of India
13GujaratVadodaraBank of Baroda
14GujaratMehsanaKotak Mahindra Bank
15GujaratSuratKotak Mahindra Bank
16HaryanaFaridabadHDFC Bank
17Himachal PradeshSolanIndian Overseas Bank
18Jammu & Kashmir (UT)JammuJammu & Kashmir Bank
19Jammu & Kashmir (UT)SrinagarJammu & Kashmir Bank
20JharkhandEast SinghbhumBank of India
21JharkhandRanchiJana Small Finance Bank
22KarnatakaBangaluru RuralCanara Bank
23KarnatakaRaichurCanara Bank
24KarnatakaMangaluruKaranataka Bank
25KarnatakaMysuruKaranataka Bank
26KeralaErnakulamCanara Bank
27KeralaThrissurSouth Indian Bank
28KeralaPalakkadUnion Bank of India
29Ladakh (UT)LehBank of Baroda
30Lakshadweep (UT)KawaratiCanara Bank
31Madhya PradeshItarsi (Hoshangabad)Axis Bank
32Madhya PradeshIndoreBank of Baroda
33Madhya PradeshSagarUnion Bank of India
34MaharashtraAurangabadBank of Maharashtra
35MaharashtraSataraBank of Maharashtra
36MaharashtraNagpurUnion Bank of India
37ManipurKakchingState Bank of India
38MeghalayaRi Bhoi (Aspirational)State Bank of India
39MizoramAizawlPunjab National Bank
40NagalandKohimaICICI Bank
41NagalandDimapurIDFC FIRST Bank
42NCT of Delhi (UT)South DelhiIndian Bank
43OdishaPuriUCO Bank
44OdishaKhurdaBank of India
45OdishaKeonjharIDFC FIRST Bank
46OdishaCuttackUCO Bank
47Puducherry (UT)PuducherryICICI Bank
48Puducherry (UT)KARAIKALIndian Bank
49PunjabFaridkotPunjab & Sind Bank
50PunjabLudhianaPunjab & Sind Bank
51PunjabJanlandharIndusInd Bank
52RajasthanBundiAxis Bank
53RajasthanVijaynagar, BhilwaraAxis Bank
54RajasthanKotaBank of Baroda
55RajasthanKarauliBank of Baroda
56SikkimEast SikkimState Bank of India
57SikkimNorth SikkimState Bank of India
58SikkimWest SikkimState Bank of India
59TamilnaduKarurICICI Bank
60TamilnaduThanjavurIndian Overseas Bank
61TamilnaduChengalpattuIndusInd Bank
62TamilnaduVirudhnagarCanara Bank
63TelanganaKhammamCity Union Bank
64TelanganaJangaonState Bank of India
65TelanganaRajannaState Bank of India
66TripuraGomatiPunjab National Bank
67TripuraWest TripuraUnion Bank of India
68Uttar PradeshVaranasiBank of Baroda
69Uttar PradeshKanpur Dehat RuralBank of Baroda
70Uttar PradeshLucknowIndian Bank
71Uttar PradeshJhansiPunjab National Bank
72UttarakhandDehradunICICI Bank
73UttarakhandHaridwarHDFC Bank
74West BengalNorth 24 ParaganasFederal Bank
75West BengalSouth 24 paraganasHDFC Bank


  1. Pankaj
  2. Veena

Leave a Reply