Person – Meaning – S.2(31) Income Tax

Definition of ‘Person’ – Income Tax

As per S.2(31) of Income Tax Act, 1961, unless the context otherwise requires, the term “person” includes:

(i)  an individual,

(ii)  a Hindu undivided family,

(iii)  a company,

(iv)  a firm,

(v)  an association of persons or a body of individuals, whether incorporated or not,

(vi)  a local authority, and

(vii) every artificial juridical person, not falling within any of the preceding sub-clauses.


For the purposes of this clause, an association of persons or a body of individuals or a local authority or an artificial juridical person shall be deemed to be a person, whether or not such person or body or authority or juridical person was formed or established or incorporated with the object of deriving income, profits or gains.

Income-tax is to be paid by every person. The term ‘person’ as defined under the Income-tax Act covers in its ambit natural as well as artificial persons. For the purpose of charging Income-tax, the term ‘person’ includes Individual, Hindu Undivided Families [HUFs], Association of Persons [AOPs], Body of individuals [BOIs], Firms, LLPs, Companies, Local authority and any artificial juridical person not covered under any of the above.

Thus, from the definition of the term ‘person’ it can be observed that, apart from a natural person, i.e., an individual, any sort of artificial entity will also be liable to pay Income-tax.


  1. Loyd Pinto Nov 29, 2015
    • Ashwani Mehta Nov 30, 2015
      • Darshan Bhanushali Dec 9, 2016
    • Pradeep Bhatt Apr 19, 2018
  2. Karthik Apr 28, 2016
    • mounika bhargavi Jul 27, 2016
    • Pragya Jan 17, 2017
      • DiLip Mar 7, 2017
    • Achyuth Jul 11, 2017
  3. Manish Mulchandani Aug 10, 2016
  4. Anuj Dec 8, 2016

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Free NewsLetter

Please Signup for 

CA Club's Daily Updates via Email

Note: After submitting your email below, please check your inbox. You need to Open the email from Feedburner and click on the confirmation link to complete the process !!